Knowing someone's whereabouts is sensitive information. Youhere was designed to maximize the privacy of your
students. Here's how it works:
- All communication with our server at
youhere.org is encrypted with https. This is the same technology that protects your
credit card when you buy something online.
- When your students first run the app, it'll ask for their
name, which is stored only on their phone, to tie them to the app for subsequent class check-ins.
- When a student enrolls in your class, their name is sent to our server to
compile your attendance roster. Your students' names are only viewable by you, when you look at your class roster. They
are never posted publicly. Enrolling in a class is the only time a student's name is sent from their phone. (If this is a problem, have students register the app using
- When a student checks in, their location is sent to
our server for comparison with your inclusion zone.
- If a student is found to be in your inclusion zone, a 'yes' is logged with their
name in your roster.
- If a student is not found to be in your inclusion zone, nothing is recorded.
We do not record a student's location, if they are not in your inclusion zone.
- Their location is now destroyed (not stored) and the transaction is over.
- We don't ask for your students' email addresses.
- We store cookies when you use
youhere.org so we
know that you're properly logged in.
That's it. Youhere (the app and site) were both written by a teacher for
teachers, to cut down on the hassle of taking attendance, and to encourage students to attend class.